Life

Peace

It’s New Years Eve, the house is a mess, there are dishes in the sink, the TV is still on for company, and my husband along with my little man are snoring away…yet I feel so content and at peace. A stirring in my heart draws me to Philippians 4:6-7, “Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus”. 

I’ve found that during this holiday period, I’ve come to truly appreciate this piece of scripture. For the first time, I’m not consumed with the usual chaos of the Christmas/New Year season, but I’m content and at peace with who and what I have – Jesus, my family, and life. There’s no other place I would rather be right now than with my husband and son giving thanks for the year that has just been, and petitioning for the year ahead.

As I reflect on the challenges and wins of this year, I’m grateful for many things. 1 – The depth of God’s love for me which was manifest in the arrival of my son. 2 – Becoming parents to our beautiful boy. 3 – The strength and tenacity of #teamleuila. 4 – Doing life with the near and dears to our hearts. 5 – Gods peace that transcends all understanding.

However it does not escape me that there are those for whom peace is but a farfetched idea. I think of the conflict in Aleppo Syria and West Papua, the war on guns and colour in the USA, and those who have lost loved ones or are alone. My heart is heavy with the suffering that goes on in this world, but as quickly as it hurts for such circumstances it is again drawn to Philippians 4:6-7, “Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus”. 

I walk into 2017 with a sense of responsibility, one that calls me to pray for the world that we live in; to raise a young man that will influence his generation to change the course of history; to live life to my full potential. And when I begin to feel stretched in the endeavour to remain faithful to these things, I pray that God will remind me of Philippians 4:6-7.

So, with the house still a mess, dishes in the sink, the TV still on for company (now showing an infomercial about the – Taste the Difference Air Roaster lol), and my husband along with my little man snoring away, I am content and at peace. Thank you 2016 for the lessons learnt, thank you for refining me, thank you for teaching me what really matters.

 

To God be the glory, Happy New Year!

 

 

Leave a Reply

